FergJoe

Request: Vertex Painting - Substance Support

I love substances, and I love Vertex Painting with Polybrush!  

Is it already in there, and I'm just unaware of the right method - or is this something Polybrush might be able to do in the future?

No worries!  I'm new to polybrush - and substances, for that matter - but I'll do my best to explain!  Substance is a (new?) tech made by Allegorithmic - like an all-in-one, procedurally generated texture system.

Substances are a texture format that contains all of the necessary maps (normal, AO, height, metallic, etc.) to dynamically create a material within Unity, combined into a "SBSAR" file.  The thing I like most about them is the ability to adjust and set parameters - a substance can have a layer of moss growth atop a stone texture, for example - I can adjust the color and intensity of the moss, adjust the heightmap to make the moss stand out, etc.  My material generates, and I can apply it by dragging and dropping it to any surface of game object just as I would any other material.

Polybrush doesn't recognize these dynamically generated textures or materials, so I can't select them in its menus or drag and drop them into its texture painter.

From what I can tell, a lot of schools / studios / devs are settling on Substance as the new standard for textures - I'm pretty new to this, but I can see why...there's some pretty amazing stuff available!  

Oh I see.  There may be a miscommunication in the documentation.  The Texture Painter in Polybrush doesn't accept any materials - it operates on whatever the selected GameObject's material is.

Unless you're referring to the process of creating shader metadata, which in that case I'm still unsure.

So that means - feature request!  I can always export my ProBuilder mesh as an OBJ and work in Substance Painter, but I like the simplicity of having my entire workflow right there in the Unity editor.